An affair with Canon

Canon hosted an event at the Flower Fields at Carlsbad Ranch in San Diego this weekend. They offered a free photography class and also loaned out their lenses for free, which was awesome…except for the fact that I have a Sony camera (Yes, I am going to be that person who brings a Sony to a Canon-hosted event).

However,unbeknownst to me, my friend actually happened to have a Sony to Canon adapter with him, so I was able to test out a lens after all! 

The one issue I had with using a Canon lens with my camera though, was that everything was manual, including the focus, which was the one thing I found really challenging.  It took me a few attempts, but here is a shot:

DSC04155
 Macro Canon Lens Test Shot 
I think macro lens are fun to play with, though I’m not sure I would be using it often enough to justify spending a lot of money on.  I am glad I had the opportunity to play with one for free though, so thank you Canon for that. 

Canon also gave everyone a free 12 x 15 print of their photo of choice, which was the ultimate souvenir of the day.

Now if only Sony will host a photography event….

Leave a Reply

